RSS Feed

The BBQ Tour 2012

Posted on

Image

OK, so it’s not All About Music this time…but it’s coming. We ARE going to Nashville and Memphis eventually.

Right…so my older brother, Roger and I decided to take a gastronomical tour of a few prominent eateries as outlined in the hugely popular show, “Diners, Drive-ins and Dives”. Our trip would commence and finish in Chicago with stops in West Lafayette, Indiana, Mooresville, Indiana, Louisville, Kentucky and both Nashville and Memphis, Tennessee. It is to take 5 days.  So far we’ve been to 3 places and I am sitting very happily in a hotel in Plainfield, Indiana…attempting to sit up straight while I type.

Day one was a night.  My brother Dan joined Rog and me for a wonderful BBQ meal at Chuck’s Southern Comforts Cafe in Burbank, Illinois (of all places!).  It was outstanding.  And as has happened a couple times since, it is the table visit by the restaurant owner that sealed the deal on the quality of the locale.  As for the food I had the Ribs and Brisket combo and we shared a jalapeno cornbread among us.  The meat (both pork and beef) was uniformly tender but I have to say, i really liked the sauce.  It was spicy, just the way I liked it.

Rog thought the brisket was “Special” and he’s thrilled Chuck’s is so close to his house!Image

____________________________________________________________________________

Day 2 brought a pleasant drive south (yes, that John Hiatt reference was for you, Lisa) into the college town of West Lafayette, Indiana….home of the Purdue Bilermakers and the school of choice by my friends Drew and Lori, but also both my uncles and grandfather. Rog and I almost missed restaurant…”Triple XXX” as you could argue it doesn’t look like one.  But it is a “cash only” diner known for having breakfast all day, homemade root beer and a burger I had with peanut butter on it.  Unique. I had the root beer (excellent) and Rog had a chocolate malt.  A fun place…probably even more fun after a rough night in college.Image

Image

The afternoon was spent continuing south to our hotel in Plainfield, Indiana and the much-anticipated night venture into Mooresville for Zydeco’s…a Cajun restaurant in a place you wouldn’t expect.  Rog and I had such a good time.  The owner, Deb, was fantastic!  Chatty, witty and fun.  The food was authentic New Orleans.  We really enjoyed the combo gumbo and jambalaya…spicy and delicious.  Rog had an unusual corn chowder called Crawfish Maque Choux…and it was nearly the best of the lot!  Great time, interesting decor…a real N’awlins place!

Image

Image

Image

OK….more to come…tomorrow, cuz we;ll be in Louisville….at Smokehouse BBQ!

5 responses »

  1. I hope you had John Hiatt blaring on the radio on the drive down!

    Sounds like a fun time.

    Reply
  2. So great, Steve! Thanks for the Purdue shout out. I must say, it’s the Zydeco’s pictures that have me most intrigued. Enjoy!

    Reply
  3. Love love love it! Love the whole thing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

